Are Hops Gluten-Free?

Hops hold a special place in our hearts, as they heavily contribute to the brewing of one of the most sacred and special drinks…beer. Hops and beer go hand in hand. Without Hops, most beer would not exist (or at least have their taste), and without beer no one would care much for Hops. But is this special plant gluten-free? And the answer is…..drum roll please……YES! Hops are gluten-free!

Hops are technically a flower, and have no relation what so ever to gluten producing grains. This is fortunate because hops are crucial in creating the bitterness and aroma found in most beer. The gluten in most beers actually comes from the grains used in the brewing process, so by avoiding those grains, companies such as yours truly are able to make great tasting beer without gluten. In addition to making beer taste great, hops were once used as a folk remedy for sleeplessness and anxiety.

It should be noted however that if you are a dog, none of this applies to you. Hops are poisonous for dogs, so if you are a dog then you would be better off avoiding hops.



  1. Keith says:

    Wondering whether you are distributing your Pale Ale near Ottawa or Kingston, Ontario. Would love to try it.

    • GFbeer says:

      Hi Keith,

      Unfortunately we currently only distribute in BC and AB for now. We are always looking to expand our distribution but nothing in the works currently for Ontario.

Join the Discussion