Our Beers

Most beers are brewed with malted barley or wheat and will contain gluten. New Planet Beer is amongst a few companies worldwide – and the only one in Colorado – dedicated to brewing guaranteed gluten-free craft beer for the growing community of people being diagnosed with Celiac Disease (CD), Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), gluten intolerance, or for those that are choosing a gluten-free lifestyle for health or athletic performance reasons.

Gluten-Free Beer Guidelines Issued in 2012

In an effort to protect the gluten-free consumer from misleading labels and advertising, the US Department of the Treasury’s Alcohol and Tobacco Tax & Trade Bureau (TTB) issued TTB Ruling 2012-2 on May 24, 2012.  This ruling establishes clear guidelines for the labeling and advertising of gluten-free beers and some of the key statements read as follows:

The new TTB ruling reads:

  1. “The TTB will allow use of the statement ‘processed or treated or crafted to remove gluten’, together with a qualifying statement to inform consumers that the product was made from a grain that contains gluten.”
  2. “The statement must stipulate that ‘there is currently no valid test to verify the gluten content of the fermented product’, and ‘That the finished product may contain gluten’.”
  3. “The TTB believes that the qualifying statement is necessary to avoid misleading consumers about the gluten content of these products because of the serious health consequences associated with the consumption of gluten by individuals with celiac disease.”

(Source: TTB Ruling Number 2012-2 May 24, 2012: http://www.ttb.gov/rulings/2012-2.pdf )

Gluten Free.  Start to Finish. Simply put, that’s what all New Planet Beers are.  New Planet Beer is brewed from 100% gluten-free ingredients, processed with care to avoid cross contamination, and tested regularly to be assure compliance.  As a result, New Planet Beer is in full compliance with TTB Ruling 2012-2 and therefore can be labeled and advertised as “gluten-free”.

Before you buy your next beer, check the label.

  New Planet Beer Reduced Gluten Beers
Contains ONLY naturally gluten free  ingredients YES NO
Label lists all ingredients YES NO
Label shows nutrition facts YES NO
Label includes gluten free statement YES NO

Bottom Line:  If a beer isn’t labeled Gluten Free…it’s NOT Gluten Free!