New Planet Brewery brews gluten-free and crafted-to-remove gluten (gluten reduced) beers. That is all we do.
Curious about the difference between gluten-free and crafted-to-remove gluten beers?
Gluten-free beer is brewed with ingredients that are gluten-free, such as millet, gluten-free oats, corn, cane sugar, and hops (flowers of the hop plant). If you’re not sure if a beer is truly gluten-free or not, know that all gluten-free beer labels must adhere to specific FDA standards. If the label on the beer can or package does not say Gluten Free, then it’s not.
Crafted to Remove Gluten is brewed with traditional ingredients such as barley. But at New Planet Brewery we brew the crafted to remove gluten beers with the aim at minimizing the gluten content. We use an enzymatic process and we filter all our beers. All of these beers must adhere to the TTB (Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau) standards. To obtain a “crafted to remove gluten” label the TTB requires that the beers pass a laboratory test at less than 10 ppm (parts per million) of gluten. Our beers test at less than 5 ppm of gluten.. When choosing a “crafted to remove gluten” beer, be sure to look for the TTB language on the package (the can or bottle) as there are many breweries that claim their beer is crafted to remove gluten despite it never being tested to TTB standards. If the can or package does not have the TTB statement then is probably not crafted to remove gluten. .
To read more in-depth about the difference between gluten free and crafted to remove gluten and how to choose what is best for you—we encourage you to read this article!