Tag Archive for: gluten-free alcohol

Being gluten-free doesn’t mean Happy Hour has to come to an end. Besides New Planet Gluten-Free Beer, there are other drinks you can enjoy without the Gluten. Take a look below for some examples of other gluten-free drinks.

As always, make sure to double check the drink label to be sure and please drink responsibly!

  • Armagnac – made from grapes
  • Bourbon – Makers Mark
  • Brandy- made from fruit
  • Champagne- made from fruit
  • Cider – fermented from apples or other fruits. Some are safe, however, many add barley for enzymes and flavor
    • Old Deadly Cider
  • Cognac – made from grapes
  • Gin- widely considered gluten-free due to the fact that it is distilled, but may cause issues for some
  • Grappa- most types
  • Kahlua- but not for those with a dairy free diet
  • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
  • Margarita Mix:
    • Jose Cuervo.
    • Mr. & Mrs. T
  • Martini:
    • Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
    • Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
  • Mead – distilled from honey
  • Mistico:
    • Jose Cuervo Mistico (agave and cane)
  • Mixes & Cooking Alcohol:
    • Club Tom Collins (corn)
    • Dimond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery
    • Holland House – all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes
    • Mr. & Mrs. T – all Except Bloody Mary Mix
    • Spice Islands – Cooking Wines – Burgundy, Sherry and White
  • New Planet Beer – our favorite of course! 
    • Tread Lightly Ale
    • 3R Raspberry Ale
    • Off Grid Pale Ale
  • Ouzo – made from grapes and anise
  • Rum- most types, spiced rum and others may contain gluten
  • Sake – fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs
  • Scotch Whiskey
  • Sherry
  • Sparkling Wine
  • Tequila
  • Vermouth – distilled from grapes
  • Vodka
  • Wine – all wines, including port wines and sherry, are safe for celiacs
  • Wine Coolers:
    • Bartle & James – their wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages – read the label carefully!).
    • Boones – their wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages – read the label carefully!)

Again, while the drinks listed above are generally considered gluten free, always remember to check the label to be sure and drink responsibly!

Source: http://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html