Nowadays, people with Celiac’s disease aren’t the only ones going gluten-free. Over the last few years, gluten-free diets have grown in popularity because of the wide array of resulting health benefits.

On the most basic level, gluten is found in wheat, barley, rye, and any mixture of these grains. But did you know that most processed foods also contain gluten? By cutting out fatty, sugary or fried foods that contain gluten, you’ll be more likely to make healthier mealtime choices that include fresh fruits, vegetables, dairy products, gluten-free whole grains, and lean meats. Maintaining a low-carb diet can lead to weight loss, increased energy levels, better digestion and even possibly lower bad cholesterol levels. Following a gluten-free diet can also eliminate bloating and other uncomfortable digestive symptoms.

Trying to come up with gluten-free meal ideas? Check out our list of naturally gluten-free foods.

Looking to adopt a gluten-free diet? We’ve compiled a basic list of products and ingredients to avoid.

  1. Grains: Gluten is found in barley, rye, wheat, and any mixture of these grains. Gluten-free grains include corn, millet, rice, wild rice and quinoa.
  2. Cereals: Any cereal that has barley malt and/or sweetener listed on its ingredients label contains gluten.
  3. Pastas: Avoid pastas that are made from wheat or semolina, both of which contain gluten.
  4. Baked Goods: Many breads, bagels, cookies, cakes, sandwich or hot dog buns, pizza crust, and other baked goods are prepared using wheat contain gluten.
  5. Pre-cooked or processed poultry or meat: Although meat and poultry are gluten-free in their natural state, gluten is usually added as these foods are prepared. Any time a food is breaded or fried, gluten is added. Also be wary of products like hot dogs, which sometimes utilize gluten as a binding agent.
  6. Sauces and soups: Avoid soups or sauces made with wheat-flour or ones that contain barley or pastas that aren’t gluten-free.
  7. Spices: Spices that contain wheat starch or wheat flour aren’t considered gluten-free.
  8. Products containing triticale: Triticale is a cross between rye and barley that contains gluten.
  9. Wheat starch: While most products contain corn starch, which is considered gluten-free, check a product’s label to make sure it doesn’t contain wheat starch, which contains gluten.
  10. Beer and other fermented beverages: Wheat and malted barley are commonly used in preparing beer and other fermented beverages. Gluten-free beers like New Planet Beer are an easy-to-locate, delicious alternative.
Next time you’re at the local grocery store, we hope that you keep this list in mind and reach for a gluten-free product! For a list of other products and ingredients containing gluten, visit

What: Microbreweries for the Environment

When: April 27th 8PM

Where: Boulder Theater 2032 14th St. Boulder, CO

Cost: $25.75 in advance/$27.75 at the door (price includes $20 ticket plus fees)


Local Boulder event alert! We’re excited to be returning to the Microbreweries for the Environment benefit: “Think Globally, Drink Locally: 20 Breweries, $2 Pints, 3 bands, 6 causes, 1 Planet”. This marks the 20th anniversary of the event which has raised over $130,000 for local environmental causes. Don’t miss the opportunity to sample some of Colorado’s best beers (especially ours!) for $2/pint or just $12 for a sampler glass. The benefit is a zero-waste and carbon-neutral event and everyone is encouraged to walk, bike, or bus to the event. Doors open and beer tasting starts at 8:00pm, and music will run to 1:00am.

What: Phoenix Celiac Disease Foundation Gluten-Free Expo 2012

When: April 21st 10AM-4PM

Where: Double Tree Resort by Hilton 5401 N. Scottsdale Rd. Scottsdale, AZ 85250

Cost: $5 in advance/$7 at the door (Children 12 and under are free)


Hey Arizona fans, we’re coming back to town again! With over 12,000 sq/ft of event space and more than 50 vendors, this will be a great event for Phoenix area folks to come check out what’s new in the gluten-free world and sample all three New Planet flavors. The mission of the event is: “to present the community with opportunities to learn about Celiac disease, as well as available gluten-free goods, services, and literature”. We encourage everyone to come out and support us and treat yourself to a fun day of gluten-free foods and education!

St. Patrick’s Day is right around the corner. Have you figured out what you’ll be serving for dinner alongside your favorite flavor of New Planet Beer? Check out this delicious, quick and easy recipe for gluten-free beer-battered fish.

Gluten-Free New Planet Beer-Battered Fish


  • Peanut oil, coconut oil , or any oil designed for high heat frying
  • 2 lbs fresh fish fillets
  • 1 cup gluten-free all-purpose flour mix
  • 1 tsp gluten-free baking powder
  • 1 cup cornstarch
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cayenne powder
  • 1 tsp gluten-free garlic powder
  • 1 tsp gluten-free onion powder
  • 1 12-oz bottle New Planet Beer or 12 oz club soda


Combine gluten-free all-purpose flour, gluten-free baking powder, sugar, salt, cornstarch, cayenne pepper, sugar, gluten-free garlic powder, and gluten-free onion powder in a large, plastic zip lock bag. Shake bag in order to throughly mix all dry ingredients. Pour mixture into a medium-sized bowl. Add New Planet Beer or club soda, then mix until batter is smooth and not too thick or too thin. If batter is too thick, add more liquid. Next, dip fish fillets in batter so that both sides are coated, then hold above bowl in order to let excess batter drip off. Fry fish fillets in hot oil until golden brown. Add your favorite vegetables as a side dish.

Adapted from Gluten-Free Cooking.

Are you as excited for March 17th as we are? To honor St. Patrick’s Day, New Planet Beer is giving away swag to help you celebrate! To enter to win a New Planet Beer T-shirt, pint glass or bottle opener, comment below with how you plan on celebrating St. Patrick’s Day this year.

Not sure how you’re celebrating, yet? Here are 10 suggestions to help you celebrate the fun Irish Holiday:

  1. Have a Green Feast. Add green food coloring to bread dough, a New Planet Beer, milk, or other parts of your meal. You can also supplement green foods as part of the meal, such pasta with pesto sauce or salad. Then, enjoy a festive dessert of shamrock cookies or cupcakes with green frosting – all gluten-free of course!
  2. Wear Green. Looking for a way to show your Irish pride? Wear a St. Patrick’s Day t-shirt, or if you’d rather take a more subtle approach, wear a green shirt, tie, scarf, or accessory with a funny Irish saying on it. The options are endless!
  3. Listen to Irish music. Use your favorite search engine to search for radio stations that play Irish or Celtic music. Visit their sites to listen live and sing along. Or, look up the lyrics to popular Irish folk songs.
  4. Attend a St. Patrick’s Day Parade. Many cities hold parades in honor of St. Patrick’s Day! Watch your local news station or check the newspaper to find out if and when a parade is being held in your city. Or, check out this list of St. Patrick’s Day parades that are taking place worldwide.
  5. Eat Irish food. Go to a restaurant that serves traditional Irish cuisine like corned beef, cabbage, bangers and mash, lamb stew, and potatoes, or prepare the food yourself by looking up recipes online.
  6. Take step dancing lessons. Search online for Irish step dancing classes being offered in your city, or check with a local Irish-American organization to find out where classes are offered.
  7. Watch a movie. Pick up some New Planet Beer and invite your friends over to watch a movie that’s set in Ireland or is Irish-themed. Some popular suggestions include Michael Collins, In America, Once, The Field and Intermission.
  8. Irish Quiz. Test your Irish trivia by taking a quiz like the one found on You can also put together your own quiz to test your friends’ knowledge by looking up facts about Irish culture, tradition, and history, then writing out questions.
  9. Throw an Irish-themed party. Serve green food and beverages, quiz each other on Irish history and culture, or celebrate with a glass of whiskey.
  10. Do a New Planet Beer pub crawl. Create your own gluten-free pub crawl by visiting our beer locator and map out the restaurants and pubs that serve New Planet Beer in your area.

Don’t forget to enter to win New Planet Beer swag by commenting below with how you plan on celebrating St. Patrick’s Day this year. Three winners will be randomly selected and contacted by email on March 16th by 5pm MST. Good luck!

Have a happy St. Patrick’s Day!