Are Hops Gluten-Free?

Hops hold a special place in our hearts, as they heavily contribute to the brewing of one of the most sacred and special drinks…beer. Hops and beer go hand in hand. Without Hops, most beer would not exist (or at least have their taste), and without beer no one would care much for Hops. But is this special plant gluten-free? And the answer is…..drum roll please……YES! Hops are gluten-free!

Hops are technically a flower, and have no relation what so ever to gluten producing grains. This is fortunate because hops are crucial in creating the bitterness and aroma found in most beer. The gluten in most beers actually comes from the grains used in the brewing process, so by avoiding those grains, companies such as yours truly are able to make great tasting beer without gluten. In addition to making beer taste great, hops were once used as a folk remedy for sleeplessness and anxiety.

It should be noted however that if you are a dog, none of this applies to you. Hops are poisonous for dogs, so if you are a dog then you would be better off avoiding hops.


4 replies
  1. Keith
    Keith says:

    Wondering whether you are distributing your Pale Ale near Ottawa or Kingston, Ontario. Would love to try it.

    • GFbeer
      GFbeer says:

      Hi Keith,

      Unfortunately we currently only distribute in BC and AB for now. We are always looking to expand our distribution but nothing in the works currently for Ontario.

    • GFbeer
      GFbeer says:

      Good question James and although we are not Veterinarians or Doctors, our guess is for a couple of reasons. One reason is that the fermentation process breaks down the hops into a format that is more easily digested in their system. A second reason is the dilution of the brewing process, at the end of the brew, there is really not that much hops compared to overall volume. Those are simply our best guesses, for a real answer you would have to ask you Vet. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments are closed.